strange the dreamer — laini taylor

Wow. Laini Taylor does it again! She is such an amazing author that I honestly can’t think of enough praises for her. Laini has such a beautiful prose and way with words. Reading Strange the Dreamer was like walking through one of Lazlo’s dreams with her. Laini writes novels like poetry without it ever becoming too much. She uses descriptions that other authors wouldn’t even think to use. I vividly remember one scene where we are in Lazlo’s dream for the first time, and I had to read through it a couple times. I was absolutely blown away by her descriptions. You feel like we’re walking through the dreams with the characters. I don’t have enough great things to say about this book. I can’t wait to read the second novel in this duology, and I think I’ll even enjoy it more a second time around. Not only is the writing just beautiful, the plot doesn’t lack for it. There are so many twists and turns, and you just don’t want to put it down. All the characters have their own ticks, and you just can’t help but like all of them, even if there are not ‘good’. There are characters that you’re meant to dislike, but the way Laini wrote them, you understand why the way there are and feel sympathy.

I want to keep this spoiler-free, but I could take so many quotes from this book that are just beautifully written. They are gloriously-written without being too much, and too sugary. I would highly, highly recommend Strange the Dreamer, maybe even more so then the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. Stepping into the pages of this novel is like stepping into the sweetest of dreams.

RATING:

5/5

One thought on “strange the dreamer — laini taylor

  1. Laini Taylor is an eloquent author, for sure! Such a beautiful way with words. I haven’t read strange the dreamer yet but the cover is gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

